Brian’s Final Thoughts On The Presidents Debate (Updated)

First of all, before getting into this, I’d like to run down the Ricardo highlights of the day.

1. Deciding to soften up on Imran Habib after savaging him earlier: “I don’t actually think he’s mentally retarded.” That’s Ricardo’s way of showing affection, Imran, so appreciate it!

2. Endorsing a candidate with a glitter-based platform over two serious candidates for VP Admin. But he knows Kathy personally, and essentially filled in the endorsement paragraph with all the things that she didn’t put in her campaign. I think Kathy should make a serious run for a position at some point. [Edit: Neal at UBC What-Is-Humour? Insiders also endorsed Kathy, so maybe Ricardo was on to something here.]

Azim Wazeer came up to me after the President’s debate and asked if Ricardo was going to respond to his preposterously long comment. I shrugged. As if I have any clue what Ricardo is going to write next!

Anyway, so UBC Insiders and the Ubyssey hosted a Presidential debate tonight (annoyingly, at the same time as the debate with other candidates in Totem, although they didn’t know this when they originally scheduled it.) Neal and the Ubyssey staff do a good job of organizing these things.

However, Omar didn’t show up and decided not to tell anyone ahead of time. Everyone waited patiently for him for almost 20 minutes, and finally Arshy from the Ubyssey received a text from Omar saying that he had “another important meeting” to be at. Keep this in mind when you cast your votes, folks. That’s a dick move—although maybe we’ll find out later that he really did have a good excuse.

Update: Omar drops by the comment section to explain:

It was a dick move indeed but I had an emergency at home and I was on the phone entire. I had to hang up to text Arshy. :)

Although this might not be the ideal place to say thing but vote Chaaban. :P

At any rate, it was a well-reasoned and intelligent debate between Jeremy and Michael, although hopelessly wonky for long stretches. This wouldn’t have been so bad if Omar had been there, because he would have spiced things up fantastically, but I think any non-hack student who decided to drop by would have been bored out of their skulls.

I feel sorry for anyone who has to debate against Jeremy on most of these topics; he knows the issues inside and out, and is a very good public speaker. Michael did a pretty good job—as well as you could have expected, really—but it’s almost impossible to match Jeremy here. I like Michael, but if he wins this election it will be on sheer popular vote, not because he’s the better candidate for the position.

For my thoughts on specific topics you can check my liveblog, but I’d give this debate to Jeremy. On the referendum, governance, resource group autonomy, and most other subjects, I don’t think I could have agreed with him more. He will make a fantastic President, assuming he mobilizes his support on campus this week and gets the vote out.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Brian’s Final Thoughts On The Presidents Debate (Updated)

  1. And bijan.ca will make this as difficult as possible.

  2. It was a dick move indeed but I had an emergency at home and I was on the phone entire. I had to hang up to text Arshy. 🙂

    Although this might not be the ideal place to say thing but vote Chaaban. 😛

Leave a Reply

